MP3s, GORK and Yonks.

Bent-BestOf-Japan-DiscDearest of friends, here are some news for you! First of all, I’ve updated the MP3 Clips page, and so you can now listen to 57 new clips, or grab a playlist of them all with a total running time of over 105 minutes! An update of the remix section on that page will follow.

Various tidbits have been added to parts of the discography as well, and I’m awaiting some records I’ve ordered to be able to add even more images. More on that later!

Simon has been busy with Pincer Movement, whose ”G.O.R.K. EP” is out soon. Samples below:

Nail isn’t resting either, with his own 12″ called ”Yonks” and participation on a 12″ from Fear Of Flying with his tune ”Glazed”. Grab them from Juno using these links:


Here’s a classic mashup from way back. Bents ”Always” and Whitney Houstons ”I Wanna Dance With Somebody”. I don’t know who did it, and I haven’t been able to find it in better quality. Do you know anything about this? Let me know!

More mashups from the old Bent forums comes from (defunct?) Radio Earwax: Act of Dogs ”Always The Sun” which mixes ”Always” with The Beloved’s ”The Sun Rising”, and Phil n’ Dogs ”Falling into the waters deep”, mashing up ”The Waters Deep” with Julee Cruises ”Falling”. Available in normal and beatless versions.

Here are two of my own terrible mashups: ”Sweet Chime O’ Mine” mixes ”Sunchime” (from the ”Comin’ Back” single) with Flatpacks cover of ”Sweet Child O’ Mine” with Katty Heath on vocals. Kind of meta. The second one is just a simple music + rap acapella: ”Invisible Pedestrian” with Roots Manuvas ”Witness (One Hope)”.

Do you know of any other Bent mashups? Let me know!

Sample source: Katie Lee – Will To Fail

I’m working hard (*giggle*) at finishing all these MP3 clips which needs to be added – over 80 of them! – and while you wait, why not have a listen to a song which was used in the intro of Bents ”Cylons In Love”? I don’t know why not. Fun fact: The first editions of ”Programmed To Love” had ”Cylons In Love” played faster.

Some Vaults music info

Here’s some info on some of the tunes on the From The Vaults release. It was taken from places like Simon Mills old Tumblr page, and various other places such as directly from the boys themselves. Regarding tunes like these, Simon says:

We actually have a ton of material. My vault says I have about 300 Bent tracks in it, running up to a day in solid listening time. Some of it is extremely daft, some we would regard as pretty bad. There’s early versions of tracks, instrumentals, sketches, remixes that were never accepted/finished and more… but collectively, it really gives a massive indication of where Nail and I were coming from, and on that basis alone we thought it would be great for people to hear even more from our little universe; we thought it was about time that we let listeners into our laundry basket to have a good rummage to hear the full true Bent!

18/30 Holiday was the second Bent track ever, made in 1998. Which was the first? I don’t know.

Did Your Heart Break?, with Zoë Johnston singing, is a tune that I got to hear back in 2003, I think, and has been one of my absolute Bent favourites since. I’m so happy that I can share this tune with you all – ten years later!

Sweet Dreams was made for The Everlasting Blink, but was not chosen to go on it in the end.

Your Secret Lie features the singing of Katty Heath, and was recorded before The Everlasting Blink was made.

Racing Car is another tune I heard ten years ago, and where does that vocal come from? Here.

Translator features the vocals of Simon Lord, and was recorded for Intercept! but was left out. It’s a shame, because I think it’s my favourite Lord song.

Blank was written in 1998.

My Daughter the Asteroid, well… here’s Simons words: ”This one harks back to us trying to complete our “difficult second album”, and although in some ways it has all the generic calling cards of a chill out tune – something we never purposefully aimed at creating – it does have a very cheery vibe that reflected our states of mind at that point… new babies, new albums, new synthesizers… And you’ll even hear us messing around at the end, since we went through a phase of recording us pissing around in the room while we were recording… happy days…”

Doo Doo, says Simon, ”for me it sums up Bent massively… well at least the daft-sampling side of us”. The ”doo doo” sample would later also appear in their remix of Morcheeba’s ”World Looking In”.

Pipe Cleaners is another one I heard a long time ago, and has been found online sometimes bearing the name Gameshow.

We Watch the Stars features Jon Marsh, who also sang on Beautiful Otherness.

Broken features the vocals of one Cathy Davey, whose own music also is great by the way. I’m particularly fond of her tune ”Sing for your supper”. Check her out at! This song was recorded to go on Intercept! but, Simon says, ”we wanted the overall BPM of the album to be a bit higher….so it came off”. It was also meant for an EP supposedly called ”AHRR funk”. There was a contest on the Bent site to win this EP, but it never actually was made. You could hear this tune on their MySpace page for a while though, as well as later on Simons Tumblr site.

The Joy of Bowling is apparently dedicated to Simons bowling ball Susan.

British Summertime is from ”about 2000”, and at about 3:10 you find a whistled melody which would later also appear in their remix of Matthew Jay’s ”Please don’t send me away”.

More later….!

Flesho – Butterlust CDR

919475_529853820405268_1224762314_o[1]Neils alter ego Flesho released ”Butterlust” on Bandcamp a while back, and now: ”available as a limited, numbered edition of 33 CDRs. (butter not included)”. Get it from Infinite Limits for £4.99! Download still available & stream at .

From The Vaults promo

Oh, and there’s this:

Bent – From The Vaults 1998-2006
Release: 24 June 2013

Digital release contains 34 tracks as well.
First 500 Physical copies gives you a golden ticket for 9 tracks (not 8)!

01 Worker and Parasite
02 18/30 Holiday
03 Did Your Heart Break?
04 Sweet Dreams
05 Chime Time
06 Many People Have Died To Bring You This Information
07 Your Secret Lie
08 Racing Car
09 Job Finder
10 Cold Heart
11 The Gallery
12 Translator
13 Blank
14 Magical Dogshit Man
15 Prophet Waltz
16 My Daughter the Asteroid
17 Doo Doo
01 Pipe Cleaners
02 We Watch the Stars
03 Burnoshk
04 Ding Dong Song
05 World of Blue
06 Broken
07 Diamond Cutter
08 Mambo
09 The Joy of Bowling
10 Small Characters
11 Club Granada
12 My Weave of Love
13 British Summertime
14 Green Cross Code
15 Which Way Will They Turn?
16 Darks and Lights
17 I Hope This Day Will Never End